Windows 8 is a Nightmare

Standard

windows8welcomethell

 

For possibly very stupid reasons, and the fact that I’m not a computer wizard, I surmised that I needed to upgrade my O.S. because of the problems I was having building my webpage. So yes, now I get the page designer up with no problem, but I’ve had a myriad of other hellish issues.

First of all, many of my programs disappeared. I had to reinstall Office (a trial version, because Windows 8 won’t run my older version) my Adobe CS6, and my Norton.

I also ended up with a a bunch of malware.

I’m still trying to get rid of this monstrosity called Jolly Wallet.

Anybody who creates these malware programs should be strung up by their tenderest of parts and left hung out for a pack of starving wolves and bears to consume. And that’s being nice.

I don’t feel like creating web pages or finding products or writing creatively any more. I feel like curling up in a fetal position.

You may be more computer savvy than I am, so you may not have the troubles I did. But for the rest of us, do yourself a favor and think really, really hard before installing Windows 8. It makes Vista look like the best OS ever!

2 thoughts on “Windows 8 is a Nightmare

  1. That really sucks, I feel for you 😦

    If you have your files backed up to a cloud storage site or stored on a CD or DVD, you could try formatting your hard disk drive (completely erasing everything) and re-installing the Windows 8. Or if you still have your install disk for Vista you could try putting that on again? Wiping your hard drive and doing a fresh install will eliminate any malware you’ve found, but if you don’t have any back-up copies of your personal documents then it might be too much trouble to even attempt it. What anti-virus software are you using? If you don’t have anything installed yet, you could try Avast. It’s free to install and free to use if you think you want to give it a go: http://www.avast.com/index

  2. Hi James,
    I got rid of most of the crappy malware. There’s still a little piece of something called Visual Bee hidden in my system somewhere, but the fix is fairly easy. I just have to remember to oust it from Chrome every time I reboot the computer. It’s still a pain in the ass, but it’s workable.
    I’m using Norton and Malwarebytes right now. They seem to be doing a pretty good job. I’ll try Avast too. Thanks!

Thank you for your kind comments and polite constructive critique to help improve my business.

