Back in the Saddle for the New Year

Standard

Colourful 2014 in fiery sparklers

I am climbing back in the saddle here in 2014. I’m bruised (allegorically) but nothing is broken. My computer was badly infected with some sort of nasty, nasty virus which made it unable to “talk” to web pages even though it could talk to the modem.

Thom the Friendly Computer Doctor (Boulder Electronic Repair, if you’re in the area) had to wipe the hard drive. Now it runs smoothly. It is such a relief to have it back. All I had was a little Netbook which really is only useful as a word processor. Doing even basic blog posts was painfully slow.

So I am now installing Ubuntu alongside Windows 8, because there are certain things that I do that aren’t supported by Linux yet, or don’t support Linux, or what have you. I’m not a techie, I’m completely self-taught. So if I’m saying it wrong, apologies.

In the meantime, if you’re looking for storage space, music downloads, and other nifty stuff that I haven’t really explored yet, check out Ubuntu One. This is a “cloud” system, and you get 5 GB of space completely free.

I hope to get back to working on the website soon. Today I’m kind of taking it easy and enjoying having my tower back. It runs better than it did when I first got it!

~Cie~

Thank you for your kind comments and polite constructive critique to help improve my business.

