Fat People and Tax Dollars

Standard

“As long as my insurance and tax dollars continue to pay for there [sic] diabetes, and heart disease, I’ll continue to feel justified in telling every overweight person I see that they need to lose weight. Shame is powerful and there [sic] fat is costing me real money”
Shame is powerful–okay! Then my being the Proper English Police should shame every nimrod who writes like this into using the proper word (THEIR) in sentences!
I only pull the “spelling police” card with people I consider to be irredeemable idiots. I do not pull it with everyday people who might happen to not have the best skills in this area. Not everyone has the same strengths.
Yes, please, fat bashers, show us the proof that fat people “cost more.” On a personal level, I have not called in sick to work in several years. I go to the doctor once or twice a year, and I pay for it out of my own pocket. The last time I was in the emergency room turned out to be for wax pushing against my eardrum causing me to have vertigo. Excess ear wax is not a problem that only fat people endure.
My hypertension is not entirely under control at this point–hypertension being a problem that many people of all sizes pushing fifty have to deal with. It is spiking at times–this in spite of the fact that I exercise more now than I did during the past five years and eat far less meat and more vegetables. I’m doing lots of things right, but because I’m fat, it’s obviously all my fault, although there are many fat people who aren’t dealing with hypertension.
Our bodies aren’t all the same. One cannot put all persons with the same body type into one category.
With this body type, I’m also supposed to have diabetes. I don’t. I’m also supposed to have heart disease. I don’t. I do have a mitral valve prolapse, which is not a disease, it is a structural malfunction. Mine is minor and does not require surgery. The worst complication from it is the heart palpitations, which vary depending on other factors such as the amount of rest I’ve had.
Both the hypertension and the mitral valve prolapse appear to be hereditary. My father wasn’t fat, in fact he was something of a healthist. Yet his life was devastated by a major hemorrhagic stroke at the age of 68. He ended up developing congestive heart failure and dying at the age of 74. His cardiovascular system was a mess. At the end, his body was bloated with fluids from the CHF.
My mother, who falls into the “slightly overweight” category on the BMI chart, also has hypertension and a mitral valve prolapse.
I am desperately trying to avoid the problems that my father (who again, was NOT fat) had. I do not want to die the way he did.
There are those out there who would say that all I have to do is lose weight and I will somehow, magically, live forever. Yet one of the nurses at the place where I work, who was a very tiny woman, recently died.
Doctors need to treat the patient, not their body type. As a wise EMS instructor said, “treat the patient, not the chart.”
End of rant.

Dances With Fat

“As long as my insurance and tax dollars continue to pay for there [sic] diabetes, and heart disease, I’ll continue to feel justified in telling every overweight person I see that they need to lose weight.  Shame is powerful and there [sic] fat is costing me real money”

So I read when I broke the cardinal rule of being fat on the internet and read the comments.

First of all, when someone brings this up I typically demand to see their list of things that their tax dollars pay for, broken down into things that they want to pay for and things that they don’t, and the interventions in which they are participating for each of the things they don’t want to pay for.  Nobody has ever produced such a list – I think that’s because this really doesn’t have anything to do with their tax dollars, it’s simply a…

View original post 1,146 more words

2 thoughts on “Fat People and Tax Dollars

  1. Unfortunately it has become PC not to criticize the bad health practices of those that cost the rest of us money. It is astonishing how many people get social security disability because they made themselves too fat in the first place. Now many really are disabled. That triple by-pass in 2006 really has made me make diet changes esp NO bacon, sausage, pepperoni, take out junk food.

    • I actually didn’t mean to publish this post on this blog, but it ended up here.
      The thing is, saying that all larger people are unhealthy is erroneous. One cannot tell a person’s state of health based on body type. There are healthy fat people and unhealthy thin people. There is a bad trend of thinking it’s okay to be hateful towards larger individuals, and it is not.
      I encourage people to read up on the concepts of health at every size and size acceptance.

Thank you for your kind comments and polite constructive critique to help improve my business.

